Does everyone truly accept you for who you are?

An excerpt from TV series Pretty Little Liars, Season 3 – Episode 1

Emily and Toby scene

Emily: I spent half the summer partying way too much. I’ve just been so angry.

Toby: Em, that’s understandable. I can’t imagine losing someone that way.

Emily: I was at this one party, and I got so wasted. I don’t even remember being there.

Toby: You don’t remember anything?

Emily: I really let my friends down.

Toby: You know how Spencer and the girls feel about you.

Emily: Yeah, but they are like my family. That’s why I can’t stand to disappoint them.

Toby: That’s what’s so great about friends… they are not your family. They accept you for who you are.

This reminds of a few situation that I have been through, but let’s not go into that. Based on the book I recently read, Hector and the Search for Happiness (François Lelord, 2002), young psychiatrist Hector written down a list of happiness in his notebook. Me being a geek, I actually note down his list of ‘findings’ to make sure I have something to reference to when my life needs a reminder. Two in particular that relate to this post, he wrote, “lesson #14-happiness is to be loved for exactly who you are”, and “lesson #17-happiness is caring about the happiness of those you love”. Sometimes, when life gets tough, all you need is for your friends to be there when you need them to be. They recognize and love your imperfect self.

‘Cause they don’t judge, they accept you for who you are.

Leave a Reply

