Daily Prompt: Call Me Ishmael

Take the first sentence from your favorite book and make it the first sentence of your post.

“Who am I? And how, I wonder, will this story end?”

“The sun has come up and I am sitting by a window that is foggy with the breath of a life gone by.”

That is the first two sentences taken from The Notebook (1996) written by Nicholas Sparks. It was not the best book that I have read by far. However, it left me a very deep impression considering the fact that I read it when I first started my entire reading habit few years ago. Well to be exact, it was (roughly) 3 years ago. The Notebook is an almost perfect too good to be true romance novel. Yet, sometimes, you will start to wonder if people like Noah and Allie (main characters of the book) really do exist in this 21st century. The thing is, after reading The Notebook, it reconstructed my perception of love to a higher level. As years flew by, times like this make me doubt my belief, and it kind of sucks to think that there is no such (almost perfection) love alive.

The_Notebook

Daily Prompt: Call Me Ishmael

Leave a Reply

